✓

The short version

  • Best for: hilly-route commuters who want strong Bosch support, easy mounting and ordinary hand-operated hydraulic braking without paying for a belt drive
  • How the electrical assistance is delivered: confirm the exact motor and UK assistance configuration
  • Battery and charging capacity: Bosch 400 Wh
  • Main trade-off: The seller description conflicts with its detailed drivetrain and brake table
01

Where the District+ 4 Guard Lowstep 400Wh fits

The clearest match is hilly-route commuters who want strong Bosch support, easy mounting and ordinary hand-operated hydraulic braking without paying for a belt drive. Compare the complete specification and available independent coverage before choosing a size or variant.

Equipped low-step electric city bicycle in covered cycle parking
RideIn contextual image for the Trek District+ 4 Guard Lowstep 400Wh review; it may not show the exact build.
02

Motor, controls and UK legality

The available specification does not identify the motor precisely. The controls are Bosch Intuvia 100, smart system.

The 75Nm Bosch Performance Line is the defining upgrade over District+ 3, offering more support for gradients, headwinds and pannier loads. Independent motor guidance describes it as a strong, smooth trekking all-rounder rather than an abrupt off-road race drive.

All the listed District+ 4 variants share this core output, so the Guard should be chosen for its controls and chain drivetrain, not for additional power. Using the five hub gears intelligently will still improve climbing efficiency and battery use.

For use as an electrically assisted pedal cycle in Great Britain, the maximum continuous rated motor power must not exceed 250W, assistance must cut out by 15.5mph and the pedals must be able to propel the bike. Check the label and delivered configuration rather than relying on a category name.

Trek District+ 4 Guard Lowstep 400Wh specification checked for this review
Listed price£2,179
MotorNot stated for the UK-delivered configuration in the accessible the seller listing; other source material names Bosch Performance Line.
BatteryBosch 400 Wh
Range informationNo numerical range is stated in the accessible listing; route, rider, weather and assistance level materially affect distance
ControllerBosch Intuvia 100, smart system
FrameHigh-performance hydroformed alloy, Removable Integrated Battery, internal cable routing, Motor Armour, post-mount disc
TransmissionSpecification conflict: the seller’ detailed table lists a five-speed Nexus chain drive, while other copy is inconsistent. Confirm the supplied drivetrain.
BrakesSpecification conflict: the seller’ detailed table lists Shimano MT200 hydraulic discs, while other copy is inconsistent. Confirm brake actuation before buying.
TyresBontrager E6 Hard-Case Lite, reflective strip, 27.5x2.40
Fork and suspensionSR Suntour NVX30, coil spring, preload adjuster, 100 mm QR, 60 mm travel
Complete-bike weightNot stated in the accessible the seller listing
Listed sizesM, L
Listed coloursTrek Black 25
03

Battery, charging and realistic range

The listed battery is Bosch 400 Wh. No numerical range is stated in the accessible listing; route, rider, weather and assistance level materially affect distance

The 400Wh removable battery is convenient to charge but modest for repeated high-output use. A flat urban route may leave ample reserve, while a heavy rider on long hills can produce a very different result.

The broader District range's larger pack options must not be blended into this review. Buyers should either validate 400Wh against their real journey or purchase the correct larger-battery model where one is available.

Use only the approved compatible charger, charge away from escape routes and stop using a battery that is damaged, swollen, leaking or unusually hot. Ask for the replacement-pack price and warranty conditions before the original battery becomes a problem.

04

Frame, fit and ride character

The frame specification is High-performance hydroformed alloy, Removable Integrated Battery, internal cable routing, Motor Armour, post-mount disc. Fork and suspension details are SR Suntour NVX30, coil spring, preload adjuster, 100 mm QR, 60 mm travel. The tyres are Bontrager E6 Hard-Case Lite, reflective strip, 27.5x2.40.

A 60mm comfort fork, suspension post and 2.4in tyres support a stable, forgiving city ride, while the low-step frame helps at junctions and with luggage. Five-speed internal gearing can be shifted at a standstill and is designed around urban e-bike loads.

The detailed the seller specification points to standard hydraulic disc control rather than the Coaster model's back-pedal emphasis, but the description contradicts it. Buyers should verify both brake levers and the rear brake at handover before treating this as definitively conventional.

Cyclist riding a low-step electric bicycle beside a British canal
RideIn contextual image for the Trek District+ 4 Guard Lowstep 400Wh review; it may not show the exact build.
05

Brakes, transmission and everyday equipment

The available specification does not identify the brakes precisely. The exact transmission should be confirmed before purchase. The equipment information is Lights, Kickstand, Cargo Rack and Mudguards; Alloy, suspension, 31.6 mm, 300 mm length.

A chain guard reduces clothing contact while common chain parts keep servicing accessible. Lights, rack, mudguards and kickstand cover everyday use, and Intuvia 100 connects the bike to Bosch's smart-system functions.

The chain needs lubrication and cleaning that a Gates belt avoids. More importantly, the seller' description incorrectly refers to belt drive and coaster braking while its parts table shows chain and MT200, so written specification confirmation is essential.

06

What the published evidence tells us

The recorded price for this build is £2,179. Prices can differ by colour or size, and stock can change; a discount against a reference price does not by itself establish value.

Trek has a live exact Guard Lowstep page, the seller provides the chain specification, and independent Bosch coverage supports the 75Nm motor's general character. Separate UK retailer material describes the Guard concept with a chain guard and hydraulic brakes, but no strong independent exact-bike road test was found.

Because the the seller prose and table conflict, this profile treats the table as the more specific evidence without pretending the issue is settled. RideIn has not inspected the bike, and brake actuation remains a pre-purchase verification point.

Mechanic checking the battery and motor of an electric hybrid bicycle
RideIn contextual image for the Trek District+ 4 Guard Lowstep 400Wh review; it may not show the exact build.
07

Advantages and disadvantages

The useful comparison is whether the complete build suits the regular route, storage and service plan. A premium motor cannot compensate for poor fit, while a modest component can be entirely sensible on the right type of bike.

  • Advantage: Strong 75Nm Bosch support
  • Advantage: Accessible low-step frame and comfort package
  • Advantage: Common chain drivetrain with protective guard
  • Advantage: Likely familiar hydraulic hand-brake controls
  • Disadvantage: the seller description conflicts with its detailed drivetrain and brake table
  • Disadvantage: 400Wh is modest for long, steep high-assistance rides
  • Disadvantage: Only five hub gears
  • Disadvantage: Chain needs more routine care than Gates belt
08

Buying checks and RideIn verdict

Confirm the exact product code, frame size, colour, battery capacity, assistance configuration and included equipment before paying. Ask who will handle electrical diagnosis, warranty labour and replacement components, then test the brakes, controls and fit before committing to regular use.

Potentially the best-value District+ 4 for conventional UK commuting, but only after the seller confirms in writing that the supplied bike is the chain-guard, hand-braked build indicated by its parts table.

Evidence basis

Technical and safety references

RideIn compared the captured retailer listing with the cited manufacturer and independent material. RideIn has not ridden this individual bike, and independent coverage of another year or build is used only as context, not as proof of this model's performance. The retailer source remains visible because it is the evidence for the recorded price, size and build snapshot.